‘Sons of Serbia’ — Louis Zečević-John (Arsenal)

Serbian Football Scout
4 min readOct 6, 2023

--

The news that there’s a diaspora talent developing at Arsenal, of all teams, has hit Serbia like a tidal wave. His name, Louis Zečević-John. The most impressive part is that he’s already part of Arsenal’s U18s at the age of 15. Time to properly introduce this football diamond to the Serbian public.

In his own words, Louis fell in love with the game ‘when he came out of the womb.’ He played for a Saturday League team, Regents Park FC, and stood out at the Gothia Cup in 2019, when he was just 11: ‘That was a good year for me, not only was I named Top goalscorer for the U12 group at this tournament (scoring 21 goals in 6 games), but shortly after I was scouted by Arsenal FC.’

Fast-forward a few years later, and Zečević-John signed a 3-year scholarship deal with Arsenal, starting in the 2024/25 season. A significant milestone on the path to becoming a professional footballer. An opportunity to receive specialized training, access education programs, and get paid to play the sport he loves. Next to that, he also signed a deal with Nike, showing just how highly rated he already is in the world of football.

As said, Zečević-John has been added to Arsenal’s U18 squad this season and has even made an impact with several goal contributions already. ‘It’s a great opportunity and I’m grateful for the chances that I’m being given. Maintaining my position in the squad is key now. So, lots of hard work and to keep affecting the game is my aim, so that I embed myself in the team. After that, we’ll see what the future holds.’

Zečević-John is not tied to just one position: ‘I’m a player who can play in any attacking role across the front line. I just love scoring goals and assisting.’ Asked to describe himself as a footballer, compared to some of today’s greats he says: ‘I’m a bit of everything, however, if I was to choose, I’d say Mbappé for his pace and dribbling, Sadio Mané for skilful play and maybe Kane or Lewandowski for my shooting.’

His exotic name can be explained by the fact that he’s the son of a British father of Caribbean descent and a Serbian mother, from Sarajevo. He still visits Serbia regularly: ‘At least a couple of times a year, as we have close family in Belgrade.’

Juventus striker Dušan Vlahović is his favourite Serbian player. ‘His passion for the game shines through whenever he plays, and his goal scoring ability is impressive. Sergej Milinković-Savić is another great player I like.’

The main question keeping fans preoccupied in Serbia is whether there’s a chance we could see Louis put on the Serbian kit. For now, we’ll be allowed to dream of Zečević-John one day setting up Vlahović for an important game-winner. ‘I’m lucky that I’m in a position where I can represent both England and Serbia, and would be honoured to represent either one in the future.’

And while most young footballers love to dream big, Louis has a grounded view of his future: ‘I don’t limit myself to one dream, however success and happiness are what I strive for. Either way, if I have a successful career, I shall look back at this and hopefully be able to answer this question in more detail.’

Back to the here and now, Zečević-John is proud to be part of the Arsenal project. ‘I’m very honoured to be part of this historic club. Watching the club’s resurgence from the inside, has only confirmed the level of work and commitment you need in order to make it to the top of the game. Arteta calls for it, Arsenal demands it, so that’s the level we work to every day.’

After Lazar Samardžić and Stefan Bajčetić, there’s a new diaspora prospect Serbian football fans will discuss laboriously and follow intensely, as Zečević-John continues his rise to the big stage in world football. All the while hoping he will see the love he gets in Serbia and choose to represent an ever-struggling, but passionate football nation.

--

--

Serbian Football Scout

Scouting, blogs & data analysis of (youth-) football in Serbia mainly, but also the Eredivisie, Serie A & Eastern Europe.